Dr Yusuf Dadoo Primary School

Dr Yusuf Dadoo Primary School

National Teaching Awards 2018

Published on December 3, 2018

Launched in the year 2000 the National Teaching Awards is a way of acknowledging the extraordinary efforts made by teachers, often in very difficult conditions.

The National Teaching Awards is one of the ways in which the Department of Basic Education acknowledges and encourages dedicated and caring teachers in their efforts to develop each learner as a citizen of a democratic, non-racial and non-sexist South Africa.

    The objectives of the Ministry of Basic Education through the National Teaching Awards are to:

  • Focus public attention on the positive aspects of Basic Education, thereby raising the public image of the teaching profession

  • Recognise and promote excellence in teaching performance.

  • Honour dedicated, creative and effective teachers and schools.

  • Encourage best practice in schools.

  • Afford South Africans the opportunity to publicly say thank you to all outstanding teams or individual teachers in schools.
Dr.Yusuf Dadoo Primary School are privileged to have amongst us many previous NTA awardees. This year we are happy to announce that our Grade Four Team scooped third place in the Cluster/ Provincial Finals.

Congratulations to Mrs.F.I.Chohan (Grade Head), Mrs.Y.Akoojee, Mrs.Y.Cajee, Mrs.S.Sarang and Mrs.A.Peck for their outstanding efforts and commitment. These teachers entered as a team in the category EXCELLENCE IN PRIMARY SCHOOL EDUCATION. The District NTA Team headed by Dr. G Deenanath generously hosted the finalists at an n honorary lunch where they received their awards and gifts from our District Director, Mr.Oupa Koapeng. The school wishes to encourage more of our talented and dynamic educators to take part in the National Teaching Awards.

We would also like to take this opportunity to extend our heartfelt congratulations to all the participants and finalists of 2018.

“By doing what you LOVE, you INSPIRE and awaken the hearts of others”